How do I register my motor vehicle?
You may register your car, truck, trailer or tractor at the Town Clerk’s Office. 603-795-2535.
In New Hampshire, you must first pay a personal property tax to the town, which is based on the list price of the motor vehicle when it was new, depreciated to the month of the owner’s birth date in the year of the registration. Then you must pay the state permit fee, which is based on the weight of the vehicle and the number of months for which it is being registered. There are no registrations for less than 4 months and none for more than 16 months, unless it is a transfer to a different vehicle. The town portion of a registration is considered a personal property tax and is tax deductible. In all cases, the town personal property tax must be paid before the state will validate a registration and collect its registration fee.
Because the Lyme Town Clerk's Office is an agent for the State of New Hampshire Department of Motor Vehicles, you may complete both parts of the registration and get all plate types processed except IRP, Commercial, Veteran and POW plates here. Vehicles weighing over 22,000 pounds will require a trip to Concord or the closest MV substation that processes registrations (currently Claremont). Always come to the Town Clerk's office before going to a substation. The Lyme TC office is now connected directly to the State and some transactions may require a wait longer than usual. We do our best to process your transactions as quickly as possible, but in the event yours is a stubborn one, we will appreciate your patience.
How do I get a title to my motor vehicle?
New Hampshire is currently observing a 15 year Title Law. Vehicles more than 15 years old will not be titled and are considered exempt. For newer vehicles:
• If the motor vehicle is purchased from a private sale, the Town Clerk’s office will fill out the title application forms. 603-795-2535.
• If the motor vehicle is purchased from a licensed New Hampshire dealer, the dealer will fill out the title application and give you a copy that you will need to register your vehicle. Bring this with you to the Town Clerk.
In order to register an exempt vehicle you must provide a valid registration from a prior owner, an old title document or a VIN verification document filled out by a licensed inspection station or law enforcement officer.
How do I get a New Hampshire Driver’s License?
When you move to New Hampshire, your out of state driver's license is only valid for 60 days. (There are exceptions for active duty military personnel and temporary residents). Licenses must be obtained from a Department of Motor Vehicle substation or in Concord. Additional information is available from the DMV's web site.
How do I register my boat, snowmobile or ATV?
These vehicles must be registered by an authorized ATV or Boat Agent in New Hampshire.
The Orford Town Clerk's Office is the closest boat registration location. Boat Registration Application Form. Boat renewals may be done via mail directly with the DMV Boat Desk.
The Lyme Country Store registers ATV's and snowmobiles. In order to register these, you must present the supporting documents (old registrations, paperwork from the state or purchase documents) to an authorized agent. The state department of Fish and Game’s web site has additional information on snowmobiles and ATVs.
How do I license my dog?
Dog owners must provide proof of a valid rabies certificate for each dog and must be licensed by May 1st of each year to avoid late fees and possible civil forfeiture action. Neutered/spayed dogs cost $6.50 each, un-neutered dogs cost $9.00 each. Dog owners over 65 years of age are entitled to a discount which allows them to license one dog at $2.00. Additional dogs are licensed at the regular rates. Owners who have 5 or more dogs may obtain a kennel license for the annual fee of $20.00.
How do I register to vote?
If you are a United States citizen, live in Lyme and will be 18 years of age or older on election day, you may register to vote in any of the following ways:
• You may apply at the Town Clerk’s Office. You will be required to fill out a standard voter registration form and show proof of age, citizenship and domicile. 603-795-2535.
• You may apply to the Supervisors of the Checklist on the Saturday 10 days prior to each election. You will be required to fill out a standard voter registration form and show proof of age, citizenship and domicile.
• You may apply at the poles on election day. You will be required to fill out a standard voter registration form and show proof of age, citizenship and domicile.
• If you are unable to register in person because of physical disability, religious beliefs, military service or temporary absence, you may register by mail. You should request an absentee voter registration affidavit and standard voter registration form from the Town Clerk’s Office. The absentee voter registration affidavit must be witnessed and then both it and the voter registration from should be returned to the Town Clerk.
Can I register to vote by mail?
If you are a United States citizen, resident of Lyme and member of the Uniformed Services or a member of their family, you may register to vote by mail. Members of the “Uniformed Services” are defined as the U.S. Armed Forces, merchant marine, commissioned corps of the Public Health Service and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administrations. Complete instructions are available at the on-line version of the Federal Post Card application form.
Do I have to register to vote as a member of a political party?
When registering to vote, you will not be required to register as a member of a political party (Republican or Democratic). You may register as an “undeclared voter”. If you are registered as an “undeclared voter” and go to vote in a state primary election, you will be required to choose a party when accepting a ballot.
You should be aware of your party status before a primary election. If you voted on a party ballot in the any state primary or the 2008 presidential primary, you are now a registered member of that party unless you filled out a card to return to undeclared status with the Supervisors of the Checklist or Town Clerk.
If you are unsure of your party affiliation, you should contact the Town Clerk’s Office, as they have the records of party membership. Or, if you are a party member and wish to change your registration status, initiate such a change by taking one of the following steps:
• Meet with the Supervisors of the Checklist no later than the last day to change your political party. This date varies and is based on the filing periods, usually early June and early October. You can make a party affiliation change at the Town Clerk’s Office by that date as well.
• If you are a registered member of a party, you may change your registration at any primary; however, you will not be allowed to vote in that primary.
• Undeclared voters may declare a party and vote at any primary. The law allows an undeclared voter to declare a party at the polls, vote the ballot of that party, and then change their party affiliation back to undeclared simply by completing the form available from the Supervisors of the Checklist at the polling place.
How do I get an absentee ballot?
Absentee ballot applications are available from the Town Clerk’s Office, 603-795-2535, 30 days prior to an election. You may request an absentee ballot application form or submit a request in writing (which should include your name, voting address, mailing address and your signature). Election forms are also available for downloading from the NH Secretary of State's website. The Town Clerk’s Office may accept completed absentee ballots submitted in person until 5:00 PM the day before an election or until 5:00 PM on Election Day if received through the mail.
Does the Town have genealogy records?
Yes, however they are limited. Official records were destroyed in a fire in 1872, so information prior to that date is sketchy. We do have some unofficial records from the local churches and a cemetery inventory which help fill in the blanks. There are laws governing the purchase of certified copies of vital records. Please contact the Town Clerk’s Office for further information 603-795-2535.