Heritage Commission

History and Mission:

Established under New Hampshire laws at Town Meeting in March 2011, the Lyme Heritage Commission endeavors to raise awareness of Lyme’s historic assets as well as function as a source of information on restoration and preservation. Greater awareness should enhance efforts to preserve and protect historic buildings and other features that give Lyme so much of its special character. The Commission has no regulatory power; it is strictly a source of information and advice. In addition, the Commission is not funded by the town with tax receipts but raises any money needed through private donations and grants.

In keeping with its mission, the Commission’s first project was to compile an inventory of Lyme’s historic assets, including buildings (houses, barns, schools, churches, bridges, and cemeteries) and certain landscape features, such as stone culverts, under the direction of a professional architectural historian. Funding for this project came from the Lyme Foundation, the Lyme Historians, and many private donors. The inventory, published in 2015, is a helpful resource for Lyme residents seeking information about their properties and also to Lyme town committees involved in planning and zoning. Copies are available for review at the town office and Lyme Library.

Consisting of five members (including one Select Board representative), and two alternates, the Heritage Commission meets quaterly at the Lyme Historians’ office at the Churchill-Melvin House in Lyme Village. The public is welcome to attend, and individuals are welcome to consult the Commission regarding particular projects or concerns. Please feel free to call a Commission member to ask to be placed on a meeting agenda.

Board Members

Name Title
Tim Cook Member
Laurie Wadsworth Member
Adair Mulligan Member
Ray Clark Secretary
Ben Kilham Select Board Representative